Bob’s Red Mill


Bob’s Red Mill Product Reviews

Bob’s Red Mill Products tend to be made in a facility that also processes Soy and Tree Nuts.  Always check your packaging and labels and contact the manufacturer with any Food Allergy or Food Sensitive concerns, before using.

Coffee Cake

Coffee Cake

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bob’s Red Mill All Purpose Baking Flour mix

Gluten Free, Dairy Free. Soy is not an Ingredient but is Manufactured in the same facility

March 14, 2013

 

    When I first heard of this mix, my friend Katie made a gluten free Crumb Cake with it a few years ago and it was amazing!  I was so surprised it was gluten free.  At the time she gave me her recipe and told me about this All Purpose baking mix that she had used.  I was compelled to recreate the coffee cake, but without the dairy, and I have to say…it was very successful!  This mix came out, excellent.  The cake was very moist, fluffy and had a great texture.  One of the main ingredients is Garbanzo Bean flour, and to be honest, this was a concern.  I did not taste a bean flavor at all.  I will have to try other recipes with this mix, but so far I enjoyed it in my Crumb Coffee Cake.  The cake was still very good the next day.  Often times gluten free items only last about 2 days.  Sad to say, my coffee cake didn’t make it past 24 hours.  The bad news is that it is because we ate the whole thing in one day, the good news is the guilt was superseded by the fact I had only made a half batch.  Not that bad, right?  Just agree with me.  It makes life easier, or at least that is what my hubby was taught.   I would definitely recommend this Gluten Free, Dairy Free, and no added Soy, All Purpose Baking Mix!

I received this mix from Bob’s Red Mill and have purchased it since.

 

 

Rosemary Garlic Biscuits with Chicken Gravy & Roasted Red Pepper & Spinach Sausage

Rosemary Garlic Biscuits with Chicken Gravy & Roasted Red Pepper & Spinach Sausage

 

Rosemary Garlic Seasoned Biscuits

Rosemary Garlic Seasoned Biscuits

 

 

 

 

 

Bob’s Red Mill Biscuit And Baking Mix

Gluten Free, Dairy Free. Soy is not an Ingredient but is Manufactured in the same facility

April 4, 2013

This mix was so fun to prepare and would be perfect for a weekend breakfast or brunch.  I followed the directions on the back except I subbed soy-free alternative butter and I sprinkled a rosemary garlic  seasoning on top of the biscuits before baking and pressed the herbs into the dough.  When rolling I found it very helpful to use plastic wrap on the top and bottom of the dough to prevent sticking.  My only mistake was that I rolled it too thin, and because of this the biscuits were done about 7 minutes early, so keep an eye on that.  I found some Casein free, Gluten free sausages at my local Wholesale mart, that were the perfect accompaniment to the biscuits.  I browned them in the pan and made a quick healthier version of gravy with the leftover juices and used Bob’s Red Mill Cornstarch to thicken it up and added leftover chicken broth that I had on hand.  No butter or oil was needed.  Cornstarch is a Gluten free staple in my house, it helps with so much in place of wheat flour.  The biscuits had a buttery flavor, a soft middle, and a very light thin crust.  The biscuits were good for about 2 days in the fridge and worked out well for my hubby to take to work for a quick lunch on the go.  These also froze well for a few weeks.

I received this mix from Bob’s Red Mill.

 

Brownie dusted w/powdered sugar and Cocoa

Brownie dusted w/powdered sugar and Cocoa

Bob’s Red Mill Brownie Mix 

Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Soy is not an ingredient but manufactured in the same facility

May 15, 2013

 

 

 

 

 

Chocolate Danger!!  These rich, chocolatey, moist, chewy goodness brownies are chocolate heaven on a plate!  Am I exaggerating, you wonder??  Absolutely not, in fact they may be my new best friend!  There is a Vegan option available.  I made these with Soy-Free butter spread, which I cut about 3 TBSP from the 3/4 cup directions, and I added 1 TBSP. virgin coconut oil.  Not a huge difference but it saves some calories.  Every little bit helps.  I have tried to cut more butter alternative and add more coconut oil, but it came out a little too dry.  So that is something to remember.  I used my 8×8 pan (insert Sur la Table) for thicker pieces, which added about 10 min. baking time.  These may have been too good, I am almost ashamed to say were about gone in under 24 hours.  These may have produced the perfect food sensitive, food intolerant chocolate brownie, but there is that danger warning for a reason.  Although I tried some of these with powdered sugar and adding chocolate chips, these brownies were perfect by themselves.

I received this mix from Bob’s Red Mill and have purchased it since.

 

 

Chocolate Cake Mix 

 

Chocolate Cake Mix Mousse JoyAndSensitivity.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bob’s Red Mill Cake Mix

Dairy free, Gluten free, Soy is not an ingredient but manufactured in the same facility

 

This cake mix tasted completely like a former favorite “normal” boxed brand. Don’t let my words fool you, this was awesome! Oh yeah, & what a treat! I did not think I could get that familiar olfactory aroma of chocolate cake & be gluten free too!  

I used soy-free Earth Balance but subbed out 1 TBSP w/virgin coconut oil. This mix had a perfect ratio of butter & I wouldn’t cut back on the amount. I didn’t have my ingredients room temp so … I mixed my almond milk and lemon juice first & set it aside.  

I put the hot water with the alternative butter in a bowl & let it melt, then added the eggs. Beat together & added mix & vanilla, and continued to follow directions. Basically i reversed the milk & hot water, so I didn’t have to wait all day.

I’m impatient when it comes to dessert, especially rich deep chocolate!

I also used my 8×8 sq. pan. & made 6 cupcakes vs. the 2, 8×8 round pans suggested. This made a thicker cake. I don’t recommend doing this but I wanted to freeze the cupcakes & update u later.

Note: my items cooked about 10 min sooner, so watch & smell for doneness!! I am fascinated with the fact there are 2 kinds of bean flour & there is no evidence of this, once it is baked. None. I have been Food Sensitive to Legumes but not in these mixes.  Give this mix a try.  I have a feeling it will be a family favorite.   Almost forgot, I made the mix into a trifle using my Chocolate Coconut Mousse Recipe.

 

 

 

 

Cinnamon Raisin Bread Mix

Cinnamon Raisin Bread Mix

 

Bob’s Red Mill Cinnamon Raisin Bread Mix

Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Soy is not an ingredient but manufactured in the same facility

Feb 26, 2013

This mix was super easy to make using the bread machine option, which I happily followed.  I only needed to add water, eggs and oil (which I replaced with soy free butter spread).  The bread has a nice crisp crust with a moist, very dense center and just the right amount of raisins.  This is not a sweet bread with only 1 gram of sugar per serving which is 1/16 of the loaf.  As soon as it cools, be sure to wrap it well, so it remains moist.  I learned this the HARD way.  It is best to pre-slice and freeze any leftovers the day you make it.  Being both filling and healthy, this makes a great breakfast or snack on the go.  Try adding your favorite nut butter, and fresh fruit or maybe even cinnamon french toast with any leftovers.

I received this mix from Bob’s Red Mill.

 

Cornbread Mix topped w/honey & coconut oil

Cornbread Mix topped w/honey & coconut oil

 

Bob’s Red Mill Cornbread Mix

Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Soy is not an ingredient but manufactured in the same facility

May 22, 2013

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have made this mix a few times, experimenting with different oils and an addition or two.  If you make this mix according to directions it makes a very thick cornbread, which is actually quite heavy and filling.  I personally don’t prefer a heavy cornbread, I like it sweet or with a kick of jalapeno, but I like it lighter and as an accompaniment.  Unless there is chili involved then I prefer a denser cornbread to soak up the chili.  I know many of you are quite particular about your cornbread and what is the “right” version, especially with southerners.  I have tried adding jalapeno, and a little sugar, I also tried olive oil in place of the recommended oil.  I will say with the olive oil, it tasted great the first day, good the second day, and actually dried out faster than the coconut oil version.  I also froze the olive oil muffins, and they just were not the same when they defrosted.  So once I found the perfect combination of  oils and sweetness, I fell in love.  Now these are becoming a staple in our home.  A little sweet, buttery, and oh so moist Coconut Cornbread.  I know the combination of coconut in cornbread, may sound off kilter at first, but the marriage of the honey and coconut well …you will just have to make it to see for yourself.  I have to say… although I enjoy coconut, I have come to love it more out of necessity.  I am not in love with coconut, as in if coconut were my BF and we broke up, I would not need Ice Cream Therapy…which incidentally is also now coconut based.   Darn you coconut, you can be somewhat Stalkerish.  Just waiting around when I need some foodlove.  Okay, I got off track.  So if you are not a coconut fan, I still encourage you to try this version.

 I received this mix from Bob’s Red Mill and have purchased it since.

Bundt Cake

Bundt Cake

Bob’s Red Mill Vanilla Cake Mix

Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Soy is not an ingredient but manufactured in the same facility

May 19, 2013

 

 

 

 

 

 

This cake mix is more of a Natural Vanilla bean flavor, and not at all like the classic Yellow Cake box mix I was expecting.  This mix called for Vegetable or Canola Oil, but instead I used a half mix of Virgin Coconut Oil (link….)  and Soy free Earth Balance spread.  As you can see, I used a Bundt Pan which added about 10 min. baking time.

 

Below is the Earth Balance link for Soy Free Spread Info.

http://earthbalancenatural.com/product/soy-free-buttery-spread/

Cupcakes

Cupcakes

I was excited that it came out so beautiful and I had enough mix to make 3 additional cupcakes that I froze for about 3-4 weeks, to test.  FYI these freeze very well!  Just let them defrost on the counter and you are good to eat as is or I like to split in half horizontally(or like my hubby likes to say “Hamburger” cut, took me years to remember hotdog and hamburger meant to cut a specific way) and fill with dairy free ice cream, coconut whip(link here…) , jams or fruit or whatever else you can think of.   I used a strawberry sauce that I whipped up on the stove and attempted a lime coconut whip.  Keyword was attempted.  I make mistakes, that is what life is, you make mistakes, you learn you move on.  After sampling this cake, I realized how sweet it was(4 more grams of sugar per serving vs. their chocolate cake mix) and next time it would pair better with a dark chocolate ganache which would add a little more bitter to this sweet Vanilla cake.

I received this mix from Bob’s Red Mill.

Shortbread Cookies w/Citrus Glaze

Shortbread Cookies w/Citrus Glaze

Bob’s Red Mill Shortbread Cookie Mix

Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Soy is not an ingredient but manufactured in the same facility

May 6, 2013

These are sweet little cookies.  The mix called for butter, so I experimented with 2 versions.  One batch I used just Soy free alternative butter spread and the other one I split half Virgin Coconut Oil and half alternative butter spread.  I added about 1 tsp. per whole package of Almond Extract which mellowed out the coconut oil flavor.  So the winner was the split mixture of butter alternative and oil and resulted in a more moist cookie.  The dough was quite dry so I added 1 TBSP water at a time, until I got the desired consistency(a wet enough dough to work with).  Instead of rolling and cutting the cookies I just used a cookie scoop to form balls and baked them for the minimum time.

I received this mix from Bob’s Red Mill.

Per one package use/add

  • mixture of half alternative butter(soy free) and half virgin coconut oil
  • {here is a  link for $10 of Vitacost purchase of $30 or more}  https://www.vitacostrewards.com/RcdKYpb
  • 1 tsp. Almond Extract
  • additional water, adding one Tablespoon at a time until dough forms together

Used a cookie scoop to form balls and bake.  Meanwhile make the Citrus Glaze Recipe but cut in half for these little cookies.

 

 

Various Pancakes

Various Pancakes

Bob’s Red Mill Pancake Mix

Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Soy is not an Ingredient but Manufactured in the same facility.

“Pancake Party”

March 7, 2013

This mix is only requires you to add three ingredients; 1 egg (or egg replacer), milk (I used almond milk and added lemon Juice to get the buttermilk like effect) and oil ( I used soy free butter spread).  I cooked these pancakes on my cast iron griddle.  They have a great consistency whether you cook them in a pan or griddle.  They are fluffy and slightly denser than a “normal” pancake.  This is great for adding fruit or spreads, and holds up better than most pancakes.  For some reason, this mix can have a slight aftertaste if it is made plain.   So to balance and give the pancakes a richer flavor, I added the following per 1 1/2 Cup mix;

  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 2 tsp. Vanilla extract
  • 1 TBSP. raw sugar or whatever sweetener is equivalent
  • 1 TBSP. lemon zest
  • 1 TBSP. fresh lemon juice added to Almond Milk (or milk alternative)

I usually add Cinnamon,vanilla extract, and lemon juice to all my pancake mixes anyway, since I am somewhat of a pancake snob, admittedly.  Moving on.
For cooking, I have used both Earth Balance Soy Free and refined Grapeseed oil in the pan and they turned out well.  I tried using refined coconut oil, but it was awful.  It smelled well…soapy and did not have a good flavor.  Note to self.
Dear Self,
Please Do Not use any coconut oil for medium heat cooking, even though others say it is okay, it  smells awful and gives off a weird taste too!  BTW you have tried it more than once, it was not a fluke.
Thanks, Self

Note:  When you are using a cast iron griddle, on a gas stove, remember the griddle gets hotter the longer it is on, so you may need to turn down the heat if you notice the pancakes browning quicker.  This could result in burning on the outside and an uncooked center.  I didn’t have a problem with these, but I have in the past with other mixes.  So just keep an eye out and be creative!

I received this mix from Bob’s Red Mill.

Pancake Party

I love a variety of pancakes and came up with a fun way to make a medley of pancakes at once.
If you have smaller kids, or picky eaters in your home this idea could work well for you.  It can be a little messy, depending on how old your young ones are, but it is fun for the whole family!  Take out small bowls and put about 1/3 Cup  (for about 5” pancakes)  of batter in each.  Get out whatever toppings or fruit you have hanging out in the refrigerator or pantry.  Some examples; apples, bananas, berries, chocolate chips, cocoa, sprinkles, lemon curd, jams, and the list goes on.  I used approximately 1 TBSP. of jam or curd in each pancake. Let everyone pick their own fillings and stir themselves.  Creativity with your food can help picky eaters, be a part of the process, have fun, and hey… things just taste better when your own hand was in the batter.  So to speak, and in this case somewhat literal.   Here are some options I tried, based on what I had at home.

  • Strawberry Jam
  • Raspberry Jam with a few fresh or frozen raspberries
  • Lemon Curd
  • Chocolate Chips with added vanilla extract
  • Apple slices with added cinnamon
  • Banana and additional cinnamon
  • Orange Marmalade with extra cinnamon
  • Cocoa powder and Chocolate Chips

Try your favorite flavors and create something fun!  I received this mix from Bob’s Red Mill.

 

 

 

 

 

Bob’s Red Mill Pizza Crust Mix

Gluten Free & Dairy Free, Egg Free option & No soy listed on ingredients but manufactured in same facility

August 29, 2012

 

 

Raw Vegan Almond Cheese Tomato, Basil & Garlic Pizza

Raw Vegan Almond Cheese
Tomato, Basil & Garlic Pizza

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I had Bob’s Red Mill (Gluten Free & Dairy Free) Pizza Crust Mix in the pantry patiently waiting for me to find my muse. I wanted to do something a little different, and definitely healthy.  So Ta Da… I came up with the raw Veggie version of Pizza.  If you follow me on Twitter, you probably noticed I try to do Veggie days at least once a week.  It’s a little bit of a challenge with a hubby who loves meat, but if I don’t make it a big deal then it’s not so noticeable.  Keep that secret to yourselves people.  Once the secret gets out they will always be suspicious of anything you put in front of them.  Trust me.

Back to the review.  With Bob’s Pizza Mix I only needed to add 3 ingredients that weren’t included.  Awesome, right?  Water, eggs (or flaxseed as replacer for Egg Free version), and olive oil.  Everything you should have on hand.  It was easy to mix, although I don’t recommend putting it in a food processor, mine just leaked everywhere.  Despite the unwelcome mess, the crust still came perfect, so now I know better.  It takes just a few minutes of mixing, no seriously just a few and let it rise.  Once it had risen, I spread it out on my pizza stone. Note to self, next time I need to just buy a non-stick pizza pan to use.  The pizza stone, was a challenge I don’t want to repeat.  Keep in mind, you need to wet your hands as it says in the instructions before you handle.  I also wet my nonstick rolling pin and it worked very well.  As you can probably tell I am not the most adept with making circles, I am not sure which part of the circle making eludes me, but I have always had difficulty with them.  All in all, it was very easy, cooked perfectly, and had a delightful texture and taste.  I cooked it a little longer in the beginning because my toppings did not need to melt or get hot for that matter.  I added fresh minced garlic, olive oil, Italian Seasonings, tomatoes and fresh basil from my yard that had been marinating since the pizza was set to rise. I cooked it for a few minutes more after the initial 12-15 min.  Then I added my italian almond dip, fresh tomatoes and the rest of the basil, garlic, olive oil, tomatoes and more Italian Seasoning blend, on top.  It was so light yet filling, and my husband happily ate the other half.  Me sad face, because it was going to be my lunch for the next day.  At least the hubby is eating healthy!  Very surprising from a man who only orders pizza with pepperoni and mushrooms or combination pizza.  He won’t usually even look at my veggie pizza unless his is all gone first.  I am completely serious!

Try experimenting with different toppings and let us know what you came up with.  I am thinking something with cilantro next time.  Yum!

Tomato, Cucumber, and Onion Salad with a Vinagrette

Tomato, Cucumber, and Onion Salad with a Vinagrette

 

 

I even made breadsticks with the mix.  I just added olive oil, salt and Gluten free, Soy free Italian Seasoning Mix.  I made a tomato, cucumber, red onion salad with a balsamic vinaigrette.  Healthy and delicious.   

http://www.bobsredmill.com/gluten-free-pizza-crust-mix.html

 

I received this mix from Bob’s Red Mill and have purchased it since.

 

 

 

BRM Pizza Mix Sausage & Sticks J&S

Bob’s Red Mill Pizza Crust Mix

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Feb. 21, 2013

 I received these items from Bob’s Red Mill and have purchased most since.

Carob Powder– I use this in my Carobana Shake  Recipe.  Carob powder in general is used as a substitute for chocolate.  It is naturally sweet,  and can have a somewhat peppery undertone.

Cornstarch- I use this ingredient a ton, along with the potato and tapioca starches for thickening sauces, gravy, soups and in my baked goods.

Organic Whole Flax Seed-  August 2012

 This is great if you are looking for fiber, a nutty flavor in baked goods, or as an egg replacer.  It is best fresh ground and used immediately.  I used a cheap coffee grinder, that wasn’t for coffee, and put it in plain Organic yogurt for breakfast.

Millet Flour- July 1, 2012 I used Bob’s Red Mill Millet Flour in my Waffles.  (See Waffle Recipe) I was using another brand, and at the time that brand was all I could find, but their flour ended up getting a musty smell like it was going bad, although it was not expired.  Yuck, who wants that?

Unsweetened Shredded Coconut-  June 13, 2012 For me this stuff is great to keep on hand to add to breakfast parfaits, muffins, granola, and other baked goods.  This is generally much more reasonable $than getting it from the bins of my local specialty$$ market.

White Rice Flour-  2013 common flour used to mix with other gluten free flours for a base(insert Amazon link) in many baked goods.  A must in your Gluten free pantry.  I have tried blending my own, and for some reason the white rice I have been purchasing, all has an odor to it and it becomes more apparent when baking.  This does not.

Sweet Rice Flour- 2013 I used this in a recipe from Canelle et Vanille’s Small Plates and Sweet Treats (insert Amazon link) cookbook for a beef stew recipe .  Slightly sweeter fine flour for gluten free baking and cooking as well.

Date Sugar- This stuff is rock hard, very very mild sweetness and has it’s own distinctive flavor when used in large amounts, I do not prefer this.

I received this sugar from Bob’s Red Mill.

JoyAndSensitivity.com BRM Dried Cherries

Dried Cherries- April 2014 

I just made granola with Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Oats and their Dried Cherries.  I started getting into making  it about a year ago, and have experimented a bit with different sugars and fruits.  It is actually quite easy and very tasty.  The main problem I have had, is burning.  There is a fine line between toasty and burnt when it comes to granola. So when I get my Granola Recipe down to a science I will post it.  I made a Cherry Granola before my parent in-laws came for the weekend, and they don’t like to experiment too much outside their comfort zone especially with food, but they both loved it.  Almost too much…The cherries have a subtle sweetness and mixed well with my cinnamon scented granola.  Delish and a great snack on the go or for breakfast parfaits.

 

 

 

 

Lemon Muffins with tea

Lemon Muffins with tea

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

March 2013

 In these Lemon Muffins I used Bob’s Red Mill (BRM) Potato Starch, Baking Soda, Baking Powder, Tapioca Starch/Flour, Xantham Gum along with many other ingredients.  The ingredients are a great quality and I carry them in my pantry as a staple.  Not only for the convenience since Bob’s Red Mill is an easy product to find in most chains I shop, but for the quality and cost as well.

The following 5 products I use most of the time and happily recommend.

  • Aluminum Free Baking Powder
  • Baking Soda
  • Potato Starch
  • Tapioca Starch
  • Xantham Gum